Leading the world

The International Superyacht Society has recognised outstanding achievements in yacht design and leadership.

09 November 2018


The 29th annual Design & Leadership Award Gala took place on 31 October , 2018 at the Broward Center for the Performing Arts in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. More than three hundred of the industry’s most influential professionals attended to recognise to this year’s award recipients.

Over the years, the industry organisation has added further awards, to draw attention to individuals and companies shaping and changing yachting for the better. The Design & Leadership Award Gala is organised for the industry by industry volunteers.

Top honours for superyacht design and construction went to the following:

  • Chevere (by Canados)
  • Endeavour II (by Rossinavi)
  • Jubilee (by Oceanco)
  • Ribelle (by Vitters)
  • Ngoni (by Royal Huisman)
  • Genesia (by Cantieri Navali Di Chioggia)


Gillian Carter, Director of Pacific Marine Design in Queensland, was based in The Netherlands for five years while working on Jubilee as the Project Manager of Engineering.

Sam Sorgiovanni of Sorgiovanni Designs, based in Western Australia, designed its spacious and rich interior, which offers accommodation for up to 30 guests in 15 staterooms including an entirely private owner’s deck. Sorgiovanni said “ It was such an honour to be awarded the Best Yacht over 65+ for our design work on Jubilee. It’s so nice to be doing it all from Australia which is no easy task in such a competitive market”.

Several individuals also received accolades for their contributions, in the Leadership Awards categories:

Leadership Award: Martin Redmayne. Chairman & Editor in Chief of the Superyacht Group, during the past 30 years Redmayne has spent time on over 1500 yachts around the globe, visiting over 120 shipyards total.

Technology Award: Hull Vane. A patented fixed foil located below the stern of a ship, for fuel saving and improved seakeeping.

Business Person of the Year: Mohammed Bin Hussein Alshaali. The award highlights Mohammed Alshaali’s pioneering work and relentless efforts to create sustainable growth for the maritime industry and its establishment as a key pillar of the manufacturing industry.

Artisan Award: Gavin Rookledge. This designer produces wonderful pieces from leather and other materials and decorates them with metal, wood and fabric.

Fabien Cousteau Blue Award: Kjell Inge Røkke. Røkke developed the REV OCEAN Project, launching in 2020, created to house scientist to map and survey the ocean’s marine life to create solutions and act as a centre for

Distinguished Crew Award: Capt. Mike O’Neill. In 2017, immediately following the devastating hurricanes which destroyed so much of the Caribbean and US shores, Captain Mike coordinated one of the largest yacht transport missions.


  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement