Amsterdam awards

The annual Boat Builder Awards return for a ninth edition in November 2023, and nominations are now open.

01 June 2023


Amsterdam in November is home to one of the great marine exhibitions in the world. METSTRADE, the marine equipment trade show, draws thousands of exhibitors from all over the world showing their products and solutions to business customers in every sector from dinghies to superyachts and from traditional sails to the latest technologies.

With the leisure marine world descending on the Dutch capital, it is also the perfect occasion to host the annual Boat Builder Awards, which in 2023 celebrates its ninth edition.

A collaboration between business-to-business publication International Boating Industry (IBI) and METSTRADE, the awards – once again sponsored by longstanding supporter Raymarine – will take place at a spectacular gala evening on Thursday 16 November at the highly fitting – and extraordinary – National Maritime Museum.

Companies and industry professionals have the largest yet range of opportunities for global recognition within the 2023 Boat Builder Awards which uniquely focuses on the essential business of boat building and allied trades.


This year’s categories draw strong attention to the key pillars that lie at the heart of future marine leisure industry success – innovation, people, and the environment.

Awards will be presented in 11 categories – three of which will be entirely new for 2023 with additional important emphasis placed on innovation, people, and the environment. Those categories are:

    • Customer of Tomorrow
    • Breakthrough Launch of the Year (sponsored by HP Watermakers)
    • Designer of the Year
    • Innovative Design Solution (sponsored by Fusion)
    • Supply Chain Collaboration – production boats (sponsored by Ultraflex)
    • Supply Chain Collaboration – superyachts
    • Sustainability Project of the Year (sponsored by ePropulsion)
    • Eco-focused Boat of the Year (sponsored by Marine Resources)
    • People and Skills Development
    • Rising Star
    • Lifetime Achievement Award (sponsored by Sleipner)

The Boat Builder Awards is free to enter. You can nominate on your behalf or send in entries for companies or people who you think deserve recognition. Nominations are via a simple-to-use online form and are open now until 22 September.

To ensure judges have maximum time to evaluate entries, businesses are encouraged to submit their nominations as soon as possible.

“Our consistent cooperation with IBI is invaluable as we continue to build on our vision of a widely recognised awards that focuses specifically on the crucial business of boat building,” says Niels Klarenbeek, Show Director of METSTRADE.

“METSTRADE provides the perfect occasion to hold this celebration, given its pivotal role over three busy days in Amsterdam drawing together the global boat building community with the world’s leading supply chain partners.”

Grégoire Outters, Raymarine’s General Manager, comments: “We are delighted to be headline sponsor of The Boat Builder Awards once again as it is important to us to shine a spotlight on the exceptional talent within our industry.

“Not only do the awards support the work of fellow businesses and individuals – they also encourage new and innovative approaches to boat building for the next generation.”

The Boat Builder Awards provides an important opportunity to encourage the individuals and teams who are so important to the health of our whole industry, adds Ed Slack, Editorial Director of IBI. “There is so much good work happening around the world that would otherwise go unrecognised.

“We want to encourage the whole industry to submit their nominations and make our judges aware of examples of great practice and achievement. For boat builders, this is a perfect way to bring credit to your business and its valuable teams and individuals.

For supply chain partners it enables you to bring stronger attention to the many great things that are happening within your partner networks as we collectively progress the marine industry of the future.”

Full details of the 11 award categories and how to nominate are available here.



  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement